Skip to content

You say “change…”

February 11, 2012

…I see challenge. 

The administration is working very hard on “changing the culture” of the school. Perhaps that is what comes with a new administration. Besides, the culture is being changed for us (anti-bullying programs, drastic changes in evaluations and standardized tests), so it makes sense that the administration is trying to create sense and meaning for it. 

But it seems like the students are challenging these attempts. Graffiti, in-class pranks, and general malaise. 

Sophomore kids are sophomoric. They are taking everything personally, and I just have to impress upon them that this is how we are professionals. 

My supervisor will be observing me next week. I look forward to hearing from him. And I have to find out what the writing on the wall is for the next couple years. If I can’t expect to continue teaching on a full- or part-time basis, there are some serious decisions to be made. I was taking for granted the fact that I landed this gig so relatively easily, but I am still on the lowest rung of the ladder. Just reminding myself that I am not to rest easy– and probably won’t for a while.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment