Skip to content

…and that teaching thing, too…

January 27, 2012

I’m being a bad girl. I created this blog to talk about teaching, and most of what I have to show for it is cute crap my own children say. What’s worse is that I was inspired to blog that because of something a student said.

We were reading aloud a grammar exercise (subject/verb agreement). The previous student had read, “The vegetables in the stew (is, are) very tasty.” The next student was supposed to say, “The men on the ledge (is, are) going home early.”

Yup. I bet you do know where this is going.

He said, “The men on the ledge are very tasty.” He very quickly followed that with, “WHAAA??”

Once the laughter subsided, I informed him that what he said would be stuck in my head the rest of the day. This was a month ago, and I still remember it… and I still giggle uncontrollably.

So anyways– this is exam week. It gives me a chance to reflect on the past semester. I like what I’ve been doing, and I would like to think those who matter like it as well. But I don’t want to fall into a rut. We’re about to rock out with some Shakespeare, and I’m willing to bet I’m going to be more excited about it than I have been with the American Lit. But somebody has to be excited.

I’ve been toying with the idea of going back to get another Master’s degree, this time for Literature. I would really enjoy having more content knowledge. But then I also saw information about getting my National Board Certification. I can’t believe it’s taken me this long to find myself in a place where I would want more than what I have from a professional standpoint. So– that can’t be bad. We’ll see how it works out.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment